Sibel Kekilli (*1980) is a German actress of Turkish origin. With her debut in “Gegen die Wand” (“Head-On”) she gained major public attention. She has won twice the highest German movie award “Lola” for Best Actress in “Gegen die Wand” and “Die Fremde” (“When we leave”).

Sibel Kekillis career started rather accidentally as she was noticed in a shopping mall by a casting agent. After the auditions for Fatih Akins award-winning movie “Gegen die Wand” (“Heads-On”) she won the leading role against a field of 350 other candidates. The film won the Golden Bear at the German Film Festival Berlinale and her acting performance received several national and international prices, among them her first Lola award in 2004.

Since then she played in several national and international productions like “Eve Dönüş” (“Home coming”, 2006), awarded Best Actress at the Antalya Film Festival, aside with Josef Bierbichler and Hanna Schygulla in “Winterreise” (“Winter journey”, 2006) or the leading role Umay in Feo Aladags “Die Fremde” (“When we leave”) in 2010. There Kekilli plays a young Kurdish woman who leaves Turkey to return to her family in Germany and flee from her conservative and violent husband on the one hand and to give her son a better life on the other. The film was her second big hit with international recognition and Kekilli received the Best Actress Award at the Tribeca Film Festival and once again the Lola award among others.

Apart from other movie roles, as the very successful comedy “What a man” (2011) directed by Matthias Schweighöfer, she investigates together with colleague Axel Milberg in the highly regarded German series “Tatort” from 2010 until 2017 and was part of the main cast from the very beginning in the award-winning HBO-series “Game of Thrones” which turned into a major international success.

Sibel Kekilli CV

Sibel Kekilli (*1980) ist eine deutsche-türkische Schauspielerin. Mit ihrem Filmdebüt „Gegen die Wand“ im Jahr 2004 wurde sie einem breiten Publikum bekannt. Für „Gegen die Wand“ und „Die Fremde“ erhielt sie jeweils den Deutschen Filmpreis als beste Schauspielerin.

Eher zufällig wurde Sibel Kekilli im Jahr 2002 in einem Kölner Shopping-Center für die Besetzung der Hauptrolle entdeckt. Bei den anschließenden Castings für Fatihs Akins preisgekrönten Film „Gegen die Wand“ stach sie 350 Mitbewerberinnen aus – was gleichzeitig ihren Durchbruch bedeuten sollte. Der Film gewann bei der Berlinale den Goldenen Bären und für Kekillis schauspielerische Leistung erhielt sie mehrere nationale und internationale Preise, darunter 2004 den Deutschen Filmpreis.

Seither wirkte sie in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Spielfilmproduktionen mit – wie etwa „Eve Dönüş“ (Heimkehr, 2006), ausgezeichnet mit dem Preis als beste Schauspielerin beim Filmfest in Antalya, dem mehrfach prämierten Film „Winterreise“ (2006) an der Seite von Josef Bierbichler und Hanna Schygulla oder Feo Aladags „Die Fremde“ im Jahr 2010. Darin spielt Kekilli die junge Deutschkurdin Umay, die vor ihrem konservativen und gewalttätigen Ehemann nach Deutschland flieht und gleichzeitig ihrem Sohn dort bei ihrer alten Familie ein besseres Leben ermöglichen zu können. Der Film bedeutete ihren zweiten weltweiten Erfolg und Kekilli wurde unter anderem auf dem Tribeca Film Festival mit dem Best Actress Award und erneut dem Deutschen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet.

Neben weiteren Filmrollen, wie etwa in der erfolgreichen Komödie „What a Man“ (2011) von Matthias Schweighöfer, ermittelt Kekilli seit 2010 an der Seite von Axel Milberg im Kieler „Tatort“ und gehört seit der ersten Staffel zum festen Stab der vielfach ausgezeichneten HBO-Serie „Game of Thrones“.

Sibel Kekilli CV